dmv

It took two months but we finally got around to getting our driver’s licenses changed! I just hate dealing with any form of government and the DMV has always been an annoying place to visit. It has always seemed to be a haven of disorganization and bureaucratic cockup. I say that based on visiting DMV’s in Wisconsin, Illinois, Ohio, Texas, and Oregon. None of them were easy.

Until today. I can’t get over it.

And to make matters even more amazing I noticed that of the 6 desks designated to handle transactions all 6 of them bore signs that said “Training going on, please be patient.” I don’t know if the location we visited (which is off the beaten track for Milwaukee) is used to train employees from other locations before turning them loose on their own, or if we just happened to show up during some mass re-manpowering endeavor. I’ll admit that the new hires were quieter and less interactive than any previous visit, but they did their jobs well, and I do believe that when they had “handled” each new citizen’s case they asked for an “audit” to make sure they did the job right before hitting the send key. All in all it was a pleasant experience and we replaced 2 licenses with REAL ID in just about 1/2 hour.

Can’t be possible. Can it?

That’s it for today. Take care o’ yourself and I’ll try to chat again tomorrow.