June 28, 2017


I’ve been incommunicado for a couple weeks now.  My laptop keyboard isn’t fixed yet. That’s not a terrible thing, I’m coping. I’m able to the laptop via a plug-in keyboard that I finally realized would give me access.  Took me a couple days to twig the simple work around, but I got there eventually.  My dad always said I had tunnel vision.  

I made sure I improved my user designations.  I always had a primary user account and an Administration account.  But I took a look at the characters in my users names and made sure I had login options that would allow me access to my computer even in event of a random key hangup.  That took some time but in a day when all our machines are connected to the InterWebs I’ll never run another computer that doesn’t require a real or a secured login.  No “1234” or “password” passwords for me!

All that messing around came at some cost though.  Not $$$$ but 🕐🕑🕒🕓🕔🕕🕖🕗🕘🕙🕚🕛.  It seems that any time I get to moving lots of files around and doing routine maintenance I’m much more likely to make a mistake and delete something I shouldn’t.  And true-to-form I had a couple of those little glitches too. I’m thankful again, for the amazing technology of the Apple Time Machine backup system.  As long as I have that running on my machines I always seem to be able to get myself out of self-inflicted shot-in-the-foot situations.  If you are an Apple user and you are not using Time Machine — shame on you.  It works in the background. Restoring is as easy as clicking on the file you want restored, or clicking restore to do a complete restoration from a backed up archive.  It’s just too simple not to be used.

There is a longterm solution for my wonky keyboard, I’ll explain what it is when it happens. Until it happens I’m sort of incredulous that it’s going to resolve itself as has been promised so I’m not going to give anyone kudos until they live up to their word.  That will be a couple months in the future — and so long as I have a working keyboard I don’t really mind the inconvenience.

However,  the non-operative key has spurred my urge to stay reasonably current with technology and I started researching notepad computers.  My attitude has always been that at about 4 years from purchase it’s time to think real hard about upgrading to the new generation of hardware / software.

I noticed that Verizon offered the iPad I wanted for a 0% / 24 month purchase at the normal retail price for Apple products.  So, I decided to take the plunge and see whether I can force myself to join the second decade of the 21st Century and travel lighter and simpler.

That laptop case and all the wires to charge it and connect phone chargers and memory cards and all that stuff were always a klutzy way to move across country.  In the RV I didn’t mind so much — I had it all with me there in the coach.  But now, doing our travel by car, that’s a lot of stuff to drag around with us, in and out of hotels… you get the picture.

And, in the bargain, I found that my Adobe Creative Suite subscription works on the iPad, so I have access to images in a way that my smartphone couldn’t manage.  I’ll share more about the learning curve with the iPad as time goes on.

It’s been a curious couple weeks. A little more on that tomorrow.

 

2 Comments

  1. Now that you have an iPad, it will be interesting to see how long it will take before you are unsuccessful in getting your desktop monitor to do anything by tapping on the display. Been there, done that! 😎

    Like

    1. So far so good, Jim. LOL about the tapping. On my desk my laptop is far enough away that I can’t REACH my screen! So, I’m not worried about that.

      Some things I really like, and the iPad and Laptop can do things together that my older units couldn’t do. I love AirDrop for one thing. And my Adobe Creative Suite applications work on the iPad too! Still, it’s such a different metaphor that I do find myself wondering how to accomplish what used to be so easy on a “real” computer. LOL

      > >

      Liked by 1 person

You’ve heard what I’m thinking. What's on YOUR mind?

