Retiring Five Years After We Left Our Jobs


Sunday morning we were doing laps at the mall and I had one of those light bulb moments.  There’s been a certain ‘something’ about our transition here in Los Fresnos that I haven’t been able to put my finger on, and I think I finally figured it out.lightbulb-moment

It turns out that this is a singular experience for us. I didn’t realize until now.  It’s also as if we are just retiring now!

Before we retired we had already bought our RV & committed to the idea of going full time. Then we retired. And began the process of downsizing from our school to our first coach, Journey.  Then there was the big push to get the house sold.  We thought we had the house sold and we packed all our belongings into Journey and headed off into the sunset, only to find  a few months later that the deal fell through and we had to move back into the house until we sold it again.  So we did, and we bought minimal furniture to occupy the house again through a Wisconsin winter.  Once more we sold the house and finally we were able to hit the road for real. And we spent 5 full years enjoying the freedom and exhilaration of   RV’ing.

What we have never done is to face the concept of retirement head on.  By that I mean the retirement that most retirees face:  years and years of time ahead of you and “nothing to do” or “no plans” on the horizon.  Rest assured we aren’t sitting here with no plans on the horizon — but the coming to terms with an idea like “this is where I am, now what am I going to do about it” can be a challenge.

retirementhomeSo, Monday morning I was on the phone at 6 a.m. cancelling our DISH account and cutting back our Verizon account to bare bones; simply don’t need all that bandwidth any more.  We have an upcoming payment on the new house so I also made some cash transfers and arrangements to have money in place when we need it.  I love online banking! Yet, as a retiree on a (get ready for it — here comes that famous expression all retirees use at some point in time….) “fixed income” (as if most people don’t live in a fixed income, what else is an hourly wage or a salary if not a ‘fixed income’?) it’s always a bit sobering to spend a big chunk of money.

My brain keeps telling me “you’ve done this before” but my psyche keeps saying “but it’s different this time around”.  All I know is that each day we tackle a few of the new experiences that aren’t all that new at all, it’s just that we forgot what they feel like after not  doing them for 5 or 6 years.

We dropped down to 36º this morning; the coldest of the not-yet-winter season so far.  I’m hoping to get to the coach this week and get started on getting her cleaned up — or should I not say it that way. I don’t think we have more than a couple hours of dusting and cleaning to do before tackling the job of researching a salable value for it.  Now that we know we are going to be here for the holiday season I feel ok about getting it listed sooner.  When we were uncertain whether we’d be off on a short trip I didn’t want to put out a listing and then not be around to show the coach should someone show an immediate interest.

There you have the beginning of our week-before-Christmas.  Christmas always pops up and surprises me.  I’ve been known to paint rooms on Christmas eve; certainly I did enough day before Christmas shopping over the years — seems I often got back into town from a business trip the day-before-the-day-before Christmas and that last day was my chance to do my shopping.  Then again, I’ve always been a buyer, not a shopper.  I go out, knowing what I want, and buy it, and leave the store.  This year I guess we already bought our Christmas present.  🙂

Thanks for stopping.  Stop by again tomorrow to see what’s up. And have a safe and prosperous holiday season.

 

1 Comment

You’ve heard what I’m thinking. What's on YOUR mind?

