My Quadrennial Infatuation


The Olympics are getting started and as much time as I can manage I’m spending in front of The Tube. I know it makes no sense; I don’t like sports; yet every four years I indulge a fascination in excellence and controversy.  Controversy because there are always controversial issues surrounding every olympics:  political, legal, drugs, you name it.  But mostly I enjoy seeing people who do what they do well… do it.

I have no favorite event.  I used to get excited about bobsledding during the Winter Olympics but I think that’s over.  Now, I’m content to see a little bit of every days games and to admire the dedication and performance of the worlds athletes.

I can’t say I’m very nationalistic about my appreciation.  I always root for the underdog.  It’s nice to see the U.S. win, but this afternoon I happened to be watcrio-2016-logohing the Tunisians playing the U.S. in beach volleyball and I have to say that it’s just as thrilling to see athletes from a country with a minuscule training budget doing their darnedest to slay the U.S. dragon on the other side of the net.  I’m not much for competition most of the time; perhaps my quadrennial obsession is when I use up all my sports interest????

Now, if you’ll excuse me, I’m gonna go turn on the TV and see if the Olympics are on…. Talk to you tomorrow.

You’ve heard what I’m thinking. What's on YOUR mind?

