Roasted ‘Taters and Lemon with Dill


Ok — these are the easiest thing since sliced bread and they’re better than  that.  Everyone loves roasted potatoes!  But adding a little acid zing to your potatoes without making them soggy can be a challenge.  When I found this recipe all I had to say was:

YES!

Ingredients

  • roasted potatoes and lemon with dill2 lbs – new potatoes, halved
  • 1 lemon, thinly sliced
  • 2 T olive oil
  • kosher salt  & black pepper to taste
  • 2 T coarsely chopped fresh dill

Directions

  1. Heat oven to 450° F. On a rimmed baking sheet, toss the potatoes and lemon with the oil, ¾ teaspoon salt, and ¼ teaspoon pepper.
  2. Roast, tossing once, until tender, 25 to 35 minutes. Toss with the dill before serving.

Simple,  Eh?  🙂

13 Comments

    1. Don’t you like a bit of acid to brighten flavors? I add a bit of lemon/lime in a lot of recipes just to do that.

      The lemon doesn’t really come across as LEMON — to me it’s just a more powerful flavor.

      >

      Like

  1. SO GOOD! I make lemon potatoes all the time. I peel, cube, then let them sit in cold water for half an hour or so (removes some of the starch and they crisp up without sagging) I like lemon juice, garlic and oregano. Yum 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. They ARE good, aren’t they! The water bath is a good idea. I should have thought about that. But seeing as my tummy gets cranky over garlic (don’t know why I never used to, but the last few years I just can’t tolerate it) I skip that, thank you very much. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ll have to post a graphic I found recently. Does the Doc not want you eating ACID, or not wanting you to eat ACID FORMING things? I was surprised that lemons are Alkaline forming…..

      > >

      Liked by 1 person

      1. That was interesting. But sadly, not relevant to my dietary requirements. I do know that a lot of people in the medical field will swear that an alkaline body will not develop cancer. I know people who will drink alkaline water just for that reason. I have also heard that too much alkaline can be just as bad as too little. Go figure.

        Like

You’ve heard what I’m thinking. What's on YOUR mind?

