Let’s play trick-a-switch!


2015022210393001Monday we were back into the cold and rain and overcast weather but as far as I’m concerned it was a pretty good day!

We were up early and out the door a little after 7 a.m. so we could get to the second closest Honda dealer in the Rio Grande Valley.  I’ve grown tired of seeing that infernal Check Engine light glaring at me.  We arrived at the dealership about 8:15 with no appointment in in little over an hour (compared to 2 1/2 hours at the previous dealership) the tech had the problem diagnosed, the part ordered and the bill will be approximately 1/4 the amount quoted by the other dealership!   Win one for the good guys!

2015022317012407
This is the nasty little bugger causing all the problem.
2015022317011606
And here is the thin solution. Now that I know it works I’ll put a dab of silicone behind it, so I can remove the tape and I’m done.

Then I dug out the business card for that RV tech we met on Friday.  Even though the fridge has been cooling correctly and that problem seems solved I had forgotten to talk with him about why the “Door Ajar” warning alarm has been sounding.  Rather than come out and charge me the first words out of his mouth were, “Well, I could come out and charge you to fix it but I can also just tell you how to fix the problem yourself.”  And he did.  Win a second one for the good guys!

I swear, we have met more nice business people since being here!  There will always be the bad apple in the bushel, but the good ones here far outweigh the jerks!

2015022317360001
Not these contacts

2015022317360602 And what was our problem?  There are two kinds of electrical sensors on the Norcold doors.  First there are a pair of sensors on the Left lower door — there nothing’s wrong with those.

But there’s also two more contacts on the top edge of the Norcold cabinet, just above the two refrigerator doors.   These seem to be the problem we’ve been fighting with.  In Kevin’s terms, the plastic in the molded door panel changes over time and curves in a little.  The result is that the contacts don’t get pushed in quite far enough and set off the door ajar alarm.  Solution?  A think piece of material to depress the switch a little further — like about 1/8 of an inch.

I took a little of that flexible magnet material like you see on refrigerators and use that as a test.  A little packing tape to hold it in place where the switch would get depressed just a little more. And Voila!  Magic.  No more annoying buzzer (in the middle of the night).

Thanks for stopping by and I’ll talk with you tomorrow.

You’ve heard what I’m thinking. What's on YOUR mind?

