Find Me a Welder!


I’m getting tired of messing around with this computer table.  So I’m going to take matters in my own hands and find me a welder.   There’s a shop in Reedsport called Umpqua Industrial Supply that the Forest Service uses and I’m hoping if I take a drawing along that maybe they can do the cutting and welding for me.  I can repaint what needs repainting black after they’re done.

I think I figured out my problem
I think I figured out my problem

The base doesn’t have the casters on it any more — I removed them long ago, and simply put furniture slides on the bottom of the lower rails.

Removing the front legs and supporting the front  with angles will give me enough strength.  Removing the curved brace will lose a little stability but If need be I can always use wire ties to strengthen that one cross member.

The revised table will slide under my driver’s seat; it won’t be too wide and as a result collide with the steering wheel, and it’s still the same size as my current table.  I like it.  I think it will work.

Some time this week I hope to get to the welder — or someone he suggests who might do the job better.

Wish me luck.

4 Comments

  1. I like the second picture with the angled bar, instead of the vertical ones. For me, it would have better leg room.
    Do you think a cross bar on the angled braces would return some of the missing support?
    I’ll continue to keep you in my prayers.

    Like

    1. The angled bar is what we’re going for. If the fabricator does what I asked that’s what it will look like. I think the support will be fine. But we’ll find out. 🙂

      Like

You’ve heard what I’m thinking. What's on YOUR mind?

