Do You Make New Year’s Resolutions?


The “Girls” are off at the cinema for a day of mom-daughter bonding.  Their original goal was viewing Les Miserables. When I realized it’s been over a year since the two of them have had alone-time I suggested they stay for a meal someplace nice and just use the time for catching up on whatever it is that women catch up on.  So, for the first time in a year I’ll be alone for 4+ hours.  And I miss Peggy already.

All our married life I have been wanting to spend more time with her — and after a year and a quarter in retirement I’m still loving it.  We continue to learn new things about each other, most of them wonderful, a couple maybe not so much, but all is great.

The year is fast drawing to a close, I guess.  For this guy who has only a tentative grasp on time I’m always surprised by how much time has past.

I’m not considering New Year’s resolutions, I never do.  For one thing I never remember them, and I am always making little tweaks to who I am so New Year’s  resolutions in particular seem to have little meaning to me.

Besides, Calvin had it right:
calvin-hobbes-new-years-resolutions

My one goal — if goal it is — is to find more productive ways of spending this in-between time in Cudahy.  The best comparison I can give is that this is like living out of your suitcase in a hotel room for months on end.  We are physically comfortable but mentally it’s draining.

Normally I’d spend the day in my studio, but without lighting equipment for photography, and without tools for other projects everything I might normally do is out of the question.  Should I buy things?  Only to put them in storage in 1 month or 6 months?  It’s a real perplexity. Sometimes talking about it helps me sort out the plusses and minuses but I am really of two minds.  As I mentioned some weeks ago, I looked into volunteering but organizations want a time commitment that I can’t provide, and even if I could find some group who could use me any training on their part wouldn’t be a fair investment if we got the house sold. Consdequently, I hate asking them to do so. A cold weather outdoorsman would have all sorts of fun this time of year, but that’s not me.

Which is why we’re heading out for the Everglades at the end of the week.  I’m sure we’ll return with images that I can post-process for a month or two. Which is really the way it works.  In the past I have taken photo trips lasting 3-4 weeks and that has given me post-processing projects lasting a couple months.  It’s not all about snapping the shutter.

The weather forecast is good for the end of the week, so we’re looking at a first day ending in Chattanooga TN, a second day ending in Port Richey FL, and from there no real plan other than doing what seems right in the moment.  We’ll spend a few days in the Glades area, but how long will depend on what we find and how creative we feel.  We’ll also probably do some looking around at RV facilities for future reference.  I don’t know any more about RV’ing in other states than Florida, but for some reason I’m not all that keen on it.

We’ve got legal paperwork to take care of before we leave.  I am looking for FedEX on Wednesday.  Another long phone call should get me through all the “sign at the X’s”.  Then we can leave guiltless. 🙂 🙂

You’ve heard what I’m thinking. What's on YOUR mind?

