tamales

Old Dog New Tricks


mexican food signAs a lifelong Midwesterner with strong Eastern European leanings the idea of spending a lot of time in the South is exciting.  But….

tamales

Yeah, there are “but’s” to everything….

And I’m wondering what does a guy who’s eaten stroganoff and goulash and pierogi and pigs in a blanket all his life do when he’s surrounded by corn tortillas, beans, menudo and cabrito?  I’ve been pondering this for some time now.

Historically we don’t eat a lot of rice. We do eat rice, but we eat a lot more pasta than rice.  We do eat beans, but more commonly it’s baked beans, or white bean soup,  not refried beans, or pintos or black beans.

I love bread, but when I say that it means I love leavened bread.  When I say bread I’m never thinking of tortillas.  Just saying.

Barbacoa de borregoI use a lot of cayenne and peppers; I don’t use jalapeños or serranos.  I like them well enough, and I like heat in my food — but my recipe repertoire simply never included them.

I’ve been wondering what I should start cooking to “prepare” my new recipe book for retirement in the S.W. It’s a quandry.  We have a significant Hispanic population in Milwaukee, and several very nice Hispanic grocery outlets — but when I walk the aisles I’m a bit at a loss about what to try.  I love the wider variety of produce and access to some of the offal that is harder to find in mainstream Midwestern groceries. But walking the aisles I draw a blank when I think about what I should buy for the next week’s menu.

peppers

I’ll figure this out.  I’m sure I will.  We should probably visit a lot more Mexican restaurants ( snicker – sounds like a good excuse to eat out a lot, doesn’t it? ).  That way we’ll expand our repertoire of tastes and maybe even learn some recipes.  Kathryn (our daughter) has found a place here in town that she really likes, Guanajuato. She thinks it’s authentic and tasty.  We have yet to make it to the place to find out.

 

 

So. Wass on YOUR mind?

